Security Certifications

When it comes to information security, you need only read the headlines to observe that those with malicious intent constantly find new and scary ways to access and misuse privileged information for criminal, unscrupulous or questionable purposes. As a result, IT professionals skilled in information security remain in very high demand and should do so for the foreseeable future.

Top Security Certifications for 2016

CompTIA Security+

With more than 250,000 credential holders, CompTIA's Security+ is a well-respected, vendor-neutral security certification. Security+ credential holders are recognized as possessing superior technical skills, broad knowledge and expertise in multiple security-related disciplines.

Comptia SY0-401

CEH: Certified Ethical Hacker

The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) is an intermediate-level credential offered by the International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants (EC-Council). It's a must-have for IT professionals pursuing careers in ethical hacking. CEH credential holders possess skills and knowledge on hacking practices in areas such as footprinting and reconnaissance, scanning networks, enumeration, system hacking, Trojans, worms and viruses, sniffers, denial of service attacks, social engineering, session hijacking, hacking web servers, wireless networks and web applications, SQL injection, cryptography, penetration testing, evading IDS, firewalls and honeypots and more.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

CISSP: Certified Information Systems Security Professional

CISSP is designed for experienced security professionals. A minimum of five years of experience in at least two of (ISC)2's eight common body of knowledge (CBK) domains or four years of experience in at least two of the (ISC)2's CBK domains and a college degree is required for this certification. CBK domains include Asset Security, Security Engineering, Communications and Network Security, Identity and Access Management, Security Assessment and Testing, Security Operations and Software Development Security.

Certified Information Systems Security Officer (CISSO)(CISSP)

CISM: Certified Information Security Manager

Designed for experienced security professionals, CISM credential holders must agree to ISACA's Code of Professional Ethics, pass a comprehensive examination, possess at least five years of security experience, comply with the Continuing Education Policy and submit a written application. Some combinations of education and experience may be substituted to meet the experience requirement.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

Certified Penetration Testing Engineer (CPTE)

Certified Penetration Testing Engineer graduates will obtain real world security knowledge enabling them to recognize vulnerabilities, exploit system weaknesses, and safeguard organizations against threats. Graduates will learn the art of Ethical Hacking with a professional edge (Penetration Testing).

Certified Penetration Testing Engineer (CPTE)